Busyness, Spring, and Other Things

April 22, 2014

I’ve been absent from the blog for a while now. I won’t apologize because I just felt I had nothing to say or write about and I didn’t want to waste your time or mine coming up with something arbitrary and pointless. I now, however, do feel like I have something to say. Here goes:

I’ve been busy. Very busy. I keep telling myself that. It’s true. I’m not telling a falsehood when I say it. Between my full time job (46 hrs/wk right now), multiple church activities (deacon duties, Sunday school teacher, youth group teacher, etc), and the responsibilities of home ownership along with my own little side projects, I don’t have much free time. Or rather, I don’t take full advantage of the time I have. I admit, when I have time, instead of doing things I’m often paralyzed by having to pick something to work on over another thing so I get little to nothing done on anything. I’m busy, yes, but it shouldn’t keep me from doing what I want/love/enjoy to do. Instead, I find I need to make time to do the things that are for me. It doesn’t always work out, but I’m getting better at it.

It’s spring time in central Mississippi. Seeing as how I work I the plant industry, it’s arguably the busiest time of the year (hence the long work weeks). I tend to be worn out and beat down by the time I get home every day. So much so I don’t even want to do the things I enjoy. I just waste my evenings in front of the TV, stuffing my face. Yet, when I make myself do something for me, like play guitar or work on a project, it makes me feel better. It’s like I feel I’ve accomplished something. Spring is busy, but I still need to do things to relax and rejuvenate me. What good is any overtime if I’m too exhausted to enjoy the fruits of the labor?

Now, I do need to apologize. When I first started this blog about a year and a half ago, I mentioned that I was working on making an album of my own music. This has not happened, obviously. I let life , busyness, get in the way. I got frustrated and gave up. I walked away from writing any music or lyrics for a while. I’m sorry. I apologize to myself and to my readers. I let us all down. I’m getting back up and I’m going to finish writing and recording my music. It may not be perfect or professional, but it will be mine and one going to finish it.

Thanks for letting me ramble and flesh out some things going through my head. I hope my attempt at encouraging myself is helpful and encouraging to you. I’m going to try and do better about regularly posting here again. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

On another note...

This is about my struggle to confront my fears of changing my direction all for a better life.

People of Lewisham's Ukulele Club

Ukulele Club in Lewisham

Jamie's Rabbits

Welcome to the corner of funny and interesting!

Knox McCoy

Welcome to the corner of funny and interesting!

Killer Tribes | Find Your Fans | Extend Your Reach | Build Your Tribe

Welcome to the corner of funny and interesting!

davidnrahaim

A line drawn between the Spheres.

humanlikeu

our only consequence for truth is love

tylertarver.com

Cool beans? Cool beans.

Morning Story and Dilbert

Inspiring, Encouraging, Healthy / Why waste the best stories of the World, pour a cup of your favorite beverage and let your worries drift away…

